What To Do In Guangzhou, 广州,China, If You Only Have 3 Days

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

 

Airport food Airport FoodHey guys, so I finally got around to sitting down
at the computer long enough to get into the right head space to
tell you about how amazing China is. I only was able to spend 3
days in the beautiful city of Guangzhou, part of the Guangdong
Province, but during those three days I saw so much and had one of
the best trips of my life. I stayed in a middle class
hotel, The Tavernew, Which was almost central
to everything, and hell taxis are so cheap. The accommodation only
cost me $30 Australian a night so I was laughing. I’ll get the most
embarrassing detail out of the way now. Guangzhou is a Canton city,
(I’m not sure if I am wording it correctly) so essentially they
speak Cantonese, and  myself being so unprepared assumed that
they just spoke mandarin and spent an entire day wondering why no
one could understand me (and my accent isn’t that bad). After
getting of the airplane at 7:30pm I waited about 30 minuets for the
airport shuttle (only 18 yuan) to drop me off at The (much more
upmarket) Holiday Inn. The only thing I knew about my hotel was
that it was called the Tavernew and I had the address in English
…. WHAT THE HELL WAS I
THINKING?
 It
was then I learned that assuming you can get by without knowing how
to read the local language was a problematic and dick move. After
going from taxi driver to taxi driver, pointing at my piece of
paper with the address and name of the hotel and being told (
though my wonderful skills of decoding body language of flailing
arms and shaking of the head) that they couldn’t take me, I began
to get worried. It was now 11pm and I was sure that I had written
it down wrong. After I had almost given up I walked sluggishly back
to the Holiday Inn and asked the man with the
sticker, I speak
English,
  where I was and how to get to my
hotel. I had really wanted to find it on my own, after all I had
dedicated almost 2 hours to asking people on the street (in
hindsight I should have asked in the hotel first). But he pointed
me back outside the hotel and along the street having written what
I assumed the hotel name in Chinese for me to show the people who I
asked for help, later I found out it was something more than just
the address. (A lady I met translated it as “She
wants to find the theater, she is a bit slow” well I am not sure if
she was kidding but I couldn’t help but laugh, I must have looked a
mess and my lack of ability to communicate coherently would have
added to that judgment.)
 Anyway I was pointed
further and further along a road, then
back up a road to take a right, then a left, then a
right, oops I walked too far, turn around go back, and
wait I walked to
far 
again.
To sum it up, I did not get into my hotel until 1am…  and In
the morning I found out it is a 5 minuet walk from the Holiday Inn,
so you can imagine how stupid I felt. But I got there in the end
after taking a lot of wrong turns and being given a wrong direction
by a shop keeper who realized her mistake and chased me down the
road for a solid 5 minutes before she caught up. I think it was the
acts of kindness of people who were happy to help me and tried
their hardest even with a language barrier that made me really see
how beautiful that city was. My 30$ a night accommodation turned
out to be the best decision of my life, while I could have stayed
at a fancy hotel, for $100-$400 a night Australian I don’t think I
would have had the experiences that I got. When I woke up at 7am on
my first official day in china I was starving and thirsty, after
being told by everyone, including the people in the hotel to not
drink the water I was dying for a drink. So I may have accidentally
drank the water by accident when I was in the shower.. and again
when I brushed my teeth (but you know what I was fine). Anyway, so
that had only solved one of my problems, I was still hungry. After
staring at the outside of the hotel for a good 3 minutes trying to
commit it to memory I set off in search of food.. within about 4
seconds I regretted leaving the air-conditioned sanctuary… it was
36 degreesC and so humid that I could have wrung out my shirt and
swam in the amount of sweat. AND IT WAS ONLY 7am Anyway I came to
the carpark and watched awkwardly as elderly people swarmed between
cars to one of the entrances of this massive wall of a building…
So what is a girl to do, well mum and I followed them, we went up
to level 4 only to find it was closed so back to the hotel we went.
At 8:30 we resurfaced and went back to the same place and again
followed the older people into the building and they were rather
amused that we crammed into the lift with them, saying
Ni Hao‘ repetitively and grinning like
goofs, I will admit I was corrected a few times but I forgot
what the correction was. Anyway as we all piled out on the 4th
floor, the old man who had corrected me nattered away happily next
to me pointing to the fish and live sea food, I imagine he was
telling me the names, but I guess I will never know. finding it all
to much to go in with the group, I loitered by the reception
watching how the process worked. I must have stood there for too
long gawping as I tried to mimic the words that were said, because
a  hostess took my arm and lead me down the back away from the
chattering groups at the tables, to a more quiet area and pulled up
a chair, assuming she spoke English I began to prattle on asking
what was good to eat. My victory of finding someone who knew what I
was saying was shortly lived as she stared at me blankly grinning
just how I do when I don’t understand. But we got by, after a while
she brought over the other hostess and let me tell you they made a
fuss, ordering me some great food, showing me how to wash my cup,
chopsticks and bowl with tea (oh man the tea! i love
gung foo tea.. the flower tea, i don’t know how you spell it but I
know how you say it, so that counts for something
right?)
, so we drank our gung fu tea and waited… and
waited… turns out they lost our order, eventually the food came
and it was mainly sweet. I must have eaten about 5 dishes by
myself, that was after the camera frenzy was done taking pictures
with my mum. I had some of the best food and I couldn’t even
remember the names of it, but in the end I did work out a system,
going back every day I was fussed over and slowly made my way from
sitting at the back away from the crowds to sitting at the front
surrounded by people, each time we became less embarrassing for the
restaurant :D. I made friends each time I went, swapping emails,
asking about places to visit. I managed to get my favorites down
for that restaurant to: 001, 042, 030 (chickens feet), 056 and 008
(green filled dumplings)… yes I too wish I had written down the
official names of the food rather than just numbers. Most of the
people I met that were met encouraged me to go by taxi everywhere
so I would be safer, but the women would give me advice for the
buses, drawing up the routes and numbers for me to use, it was
amazing the way that they were so happy to take time out of their
day and help me. What did I actually see when I was
there?
Wow Boy, hold on to your hat. On my first day
I caught a cab to White Cloud
Mountain
 (while I wasn’t game enough to go
there by bus I found it to only cost me around $5 Australian so I
was happy, but on the way home it cost me about $1 on the 285 bus
which was an experience all in itself ). White Cloud Mountain was
amazing, such beauty for a city that I assumed to be just concrete,
it showed me up. I took one look at how steep it was and went
straight for the cable car line, deciding it would be much easier
to walk down and wow it was unreal. The view was actually one of
the best I have ever seen. I found it not nearly as touristy as I
anticipated which I was relieved about. many people who live in the
city come here on the weekend to make the walk, not only to get
fitter or to see the shrines (WHICH WERE AMAZING) but to sing
karaoke in the park and dance. The shrines as you walk down (or up)
are amazing, I cant recommend watching people pray before you jump
in and do it yourself. I must have stood watching about 20 minutes
before I was game to do it.  I walked up and collected 3
incense sticks, lit them faced the center of the shrine and bowed
three times, following what I had seen. the number three was
repeated a lot, After saying my prayers I stuck my incense sticks
into the glowing stand and progressed onto phase 2, the kneeling
down bit, I said my prayers (or more wishes) I guess to each and
walked on. There are a lot of stairs. I mean a LOT. I recommend
taking two liters of water, when I was in china I must have drunk
around 5 or 6 liters of water a day, and along the path going down
is where I encountered my first squatting toilet.. that was an
experience… I actually didn’t mind it so much. lets say I got a
lot stronger. I couldn’t help but take a picture of the two
footprints. here I noticed that every one carries packets of
tissues, And I understood why, many many uses, tissues, toilet
paper and serviettes… yeah I am not kidding. While I was at cloud
mountain it started to sprinkle, the pictures are below
somewhere…. good luck finding them.

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Day

"I

"My

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

"Day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day 2 Chen Academy

Day 2 Chen
Academy

Day Two Pedestrian Street

Day Two Pedestrian
Street

Day Two Pedestrian Street

Day Two Pedestrian
Street

Day Two Pedestrian Street

Day Two Pedestrian
Street

"Day

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 3

Day 3

Day 3

Day 3

Day 3

Day 3

"Day

"Day

Day 3

Day 3

"Day

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Day 3

Day 3

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 3 evening

Day 3 evening

 

Day 3 Evening

Day 3 Evening

 

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Day 2 Night cruise

Day 2 Night
cruise

Day 2 Night cruise

Day 2 Night
cruise

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

"Day

Day 2 Night cruise

Day 2 Night
cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day 2 Night Cruise

Day 2 Night
Cruise

Day two Night cruise

Day two Night
cruise

Day 2 Night cruise

Day 2 Night
cruise

"Day

"Day

Now for my proof: Waiting for the bus
after getting out of customs

"Waiting
OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Where

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA After waking up at 4
and rolling around waiting for my mum to wakeup to we finally
started to get ready at 6am and being starving we took a walk and
then did some stalking, following old ladies into a building and up
the elevator… only nothing was open that early. We then retreated
back to the coolness of our hotel room until 8:30am, when we again
followed these old ladies into a building next to the theatre.

"After

Yummy Gung Fu Tea

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

"White

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

"White

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

"White

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

White Cloud Mountain

White Cloud
Mountain

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"White

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"White

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Anyone Fancy a Root?

Anyone Fancy a
Root?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"The

"White

"White

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"White

"White

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"What

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"did

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"White

"White

"Our

"Yes,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Clearly

"Tiny

I love the Trees there

I love the Trees
there

"Another

"Who

Now you see us...

Now you see
us…

Hiding in the Bushes

Hiding in the
Bushes

Lychees!

Lychees!

 

yummy

yummy

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Wise Goats?

Wise Goats?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Such a Beautiful Place

Such a Beautiful
Place

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Inside

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Only

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Dont

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"I

Feels Like Heaven to me.

Feels Like Heaven to
me.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

I was dying to take one home!

I was dying to take one
home!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"So

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

"Mum

SO beautiful!

SO beautiful!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Love me some Kittys

Love me some
Kittys

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

Entrance/ Exit

Entrance/ Exit

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA

I really love this picture

I really love this
picture

OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL<br />
CAMERAWHile typing this sentence
I have realised my pictures have all gone skew-if. Any way this was
my agenda while in Guangzough Day 1:

  • Yun Tai
    Garden
  • Bai Yun Mountain (White Cloud
    Mountain)

Day 2:

  • Chen
    Academy
  • Beijing Road/ Pedestrian
    Street
  • Pearl River Night Cruise

Day 3:

  • Nanyyue Kings Tomb
    (ended up going here day one too with Lilly)
  • Sha Mian (Not sure if I actually went here
    though)

Museum of the
Mausoleum of the Nanyue King
: (details from flyer I
got while I was there)

  • Opened in
    1988
  • Was built on the site of the Second King
    of Nanyue tomb site. (Jade emperor if that helps, think of the man
    buried in a jade suit?)
  • has 11465 Relics and
    some extra excitement donated by Mr. Yeung Wing-Tak.
  • The Tomb was discovered in 1983
  • The
    tomb was discovered by chance and was not plundered when
    discovered.
  • The seal provides identification
    of the occupant to be Zhao Mo.
  • 15 Others were
    found with him (thought to be sacrificed)
  • In
    1996 it was declared a Major Chinese Historical Site
  • Has many ceramic pillows (trust be I saw so many that I
    would say easy over 400, 200+ were donated by Mr and Mrs Yeung
    Wing-Tak)
  • While you are here you can walk
    through parts of the tomb! I really enjoyed that part! SO I BET YOU
    WANT TO KNOW HOW TO GET THERE!: well the address is 867 Jiefang
    Road N, Guanghou and only 12 yuan to get in!
    http://www.gnywmuseum.com

20131231-113208.jpg

20131231-113239.jpg

20131231-113318.jpg

20131231-113356.jpg

20131231-113416.jpg

20131231-113601.jpg

20131231-113623.jpg

20131231-113642.jpg

20131231-113658.jpg

20131231-113720.jpg

20131231-113743.jpg

20131231-113811.jpg

20131231-113853.jpg

20131231-113910.jpg

20131231-113825.jpg

20131231-114023.jpg

20131231-114149.jpg

20131231-114120.jpg

20131231-114200.jpg

20131231-114134.jpg

Leave a Reply

