Two Days In Paris

The Louvre

The Louvre

086

The Louvre The Louvre

087

My Mum at the Lido My Mum at the Lido

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

084 OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe Lido The Lido

081

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA 080Thank God It tells us where to get off. Thank God It tells us where to get off.

077

Fresh off the Plane Fresh off the Plane

My boyfriends the fruit sellers who we met on our first morning.

My boyfriends the fruit sellers who we met on our first morning.

We walked to the next train station since we got so lost trying to figure out the entrances.

We walked to the next train station since we got so lost trying to figure out the entrances.

Holy Smokes

Holy Smokes

French Lavender

French Lavender

Lavender in Paris

Lavender in Paris

Opera

Opera

Walking along the street as you do...

Walking along the street as you do…

Another Fancy Building, They are so amazing.

Another Fancy Building, They are so amazing.

Oh look a bus with that Building.

Oh look a bus with that Building.

Would you like some traffic with that architecture?

Would you like some traffic with that architecture?

So many Bikes!

So many Bikes!

Opera

Opera

Opera (across from where we caught the 'hop on hop off bus')

Opera (across from where we caught the ‘hop on hop off bus’)

Opera

Opera

I wish I could remember why I took a picture of this. Possibly the Place de la Concord.

I wish I could remember why I took a picture of this. Possibly the Place de la Concord.

Pretty Buildings

Pretty Buildings

More Pretty Buildings

More Pretty Buildings

A frenzy of snaps

A frenzy of snaps

Love the stone work

Love the stone work

That makes one of us...

That makes one of us…

My special place

My special place

I really liked it since we have the same name

I really liked it since we have the same name

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

Flower Pot

Flower Pot

More Architecture

More Architecture

Yet another beauty

Yet another beauty

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

What are the pictures of?:

  • Le Lido
  • Champs de Elysees
  • Arc de Trmphe (in the pictures I refer to it as Champs Elysees so know I am actually talking about the Arc)
  • Palais de L’Elysee (outside)
  • Grand Palais (outside)
  • Palais de Tokyo (outiside)
  • Musee Guimet (outside)
  • Musee de L’homme (outside)
  • Trocadero (outisde)
  • Musee de la Marine (outside)
  • Tour Eiffel
  • Champ de Mars
  • a military building I cant remember the name of but I know I got a shot of it somwhere.
  • Musee d’orsay (outside)
  • Notre Dame
  • Musee le Louvre
  • Opera (the main trainstation I used)

Hmm where to start, right in the middle of the pictures seems like the perfect place.

We arrived in Paris via Air France From China  early in the morning. After much debate we finally figures out where we needed to go, the help desk at the airport was less than helpful. But we managed to get on the right train to the Hotel Mum booked…. yeah it wasnt the best… The first night we stayed litterally behind a cute little  (VERY EXPENSIVE) cafe in a hotel, it was really really closed to the Belleville Train Station, and the second night we stayed at Hotel les Chansonniers, which the standard was equal to the first night although the staff and atmosphere was much much better.

Ok now I have gotten where I stayed out of the way, lets discuss what I did.

I was very jetlagged and was feeling the full effects of eating gluten (AND IT WAS NOT WORTH IT), I had decided since I was in France, which is so famous for it’s pastries I simply must have some… and I did, and let me tell you they tasted not at all up to par to what I had imagined (luckily the architecture made up for it). So feeling sluggish my mum and I went for a stroll after we had dropped off our bags at the hotel. That is when we saw all the fruit stalls and oher market stalls of people selling their wears. The majority of the people selling were foreigners who had adopted Paris as their home, their pride for their country made me feel really envious( when I ask aussies where they are from (I am referring to suburb) they are always inclined to answer with their ethnicity or back ground even if their family is 2nd or even 7th generation Australian), Anyway back to my lovely French boyfriends, as my mum and I wandered and bought handfuls of fruit here and there we were offered fruit from so many lovely people. It really made me feel so welcome. As my mum and I decided to walk to the trainstation to catch a train to Republic to change, gorging ourselves on the fruit we realised we had walked to the Menilmontant… Which wasnt exactly the right way, we ended up giving the bags of fruit to a homelessman and jumped the train to Opera.

As we emerged out of the train station we quickly found a bus tour place masquerading as a foreign exchange place.  After spending 31 Euros each on a two day ticket in the Le Tour les cars rouges (A red double decker bus). We did the 9 Stop Scenic Tour all the way through before getting off at Grand Palais. After walking around for a bit I soon realised I needed to lie down  and we went back to the hotel, Mum continued to wander the streets around the hotel while I slept for 18 hours. The next morning we emerged to an equally lovely day, Jumping the first red bus from opera we got off at the Champs de Elysees and took a long look around, jumping a few cues here and there by pure accident. This was possibly my favourite place. So much history.

We then had a wander down the street since it is apparently famous for shopping… yeah not my idea of fun. Mum and I grew bored of that quickly and jumped the next bus to the Tour Eiffel (Eiffel Tower), but not before booking tickets to see the show at the Lido that night.

As we made our way there to see the Iconic tower.. Low and behold it was on strike, allowing no one up. Safe to say I was rather upset, like a lot of people… especially the people who needed to use the bathroom like me (the amenities linked to the tower were also shut and forced everyone to use the only public bathroom in the area. And let me tell you I needed to use it badly after drinking 2 litres of water that morning. After waiting in the line for 45 minutes I met a lovely South African couple on their honey moon and another man  in front of me who was from the same area as them, as we waited a con man set up shop beside the cue (along with his two partners in crime) easily he fooled people and took their money, only the two people who worked with him won money, walking away when others wanted to try their hand at winning and coming back when it was getting quiet. Stupidly or Sadly the newly weds lost 300 euros on this HOW I DONT KNOW, I only remember her saying it was a sure fire way to double their money. yeahhhhhh.

Anyway I got to use the bathroom eventually and we were back on the road to the Louvre (11 Euros on the 26th of June 2013 – I’m reading off my ticket which I saved).

Now that was worth it, only being able to spend a few hours there was nothing! there was so much to see, a week on it alone wouldnt be enough time to enjoy even a wing to it’s full potential. Sadly we had to do a running visit and the only three pictures I took were blurry, the rest my mum took on her camera… and as luck would have it, mums pictures from the 5 week holiday all have disappeared.

A quick dash back to the hotel to change into the only dresses we brought with us and we were off to the Lido for dinner and a show. And Man What A SHOW!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Fountain

Fountain

Bridge Keeper

Bridge Keeper

Ohh look there in the background.

Ohh look there in the background.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bridge Keeper

Bridge Keeper

Champs Elysees

Champs Elysees

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So pretty

So pretty

Pyramide de Louvre

Pyramide de Louvre

Magnificent Building

Magnificent Building

Inside the Louve

Inside the Louve

Leave a Reply

