Getting rid of things makes you happier

To start. I woke up and decided I needed to make sure I didn’t slip back into the hole I climbed out of last July. I went around my room and removed all of this: everything there minus the Painting by SD is going to the church. That’s 2 hours work.

20130417-112950.jpg

I am not a minimalist, and I hope to never be compared to one. I have way to much junk and I am sure that the minimalists out there would be offended.

I get stressed and agitated. Over the last year, my family has noticed the more stuff I have the more I panic.

Solution that is helping with medication, Decluttering.

I got rid of my wardrobe and use the 3 spikes on the coat rack behind my door as my wardrobe.

In My Room:

Bed

  • I have two sets of white sheets with 6 pillow cases combined, I only sleep with one pillow and change that one every two days becasuse I share it with my cat.
  • Two doonas, one for summer and one for winter, they share the same white doona cover.

Chest of Draws

  • Stockings X14 (I wear these almost every day, 3 are multi coloured and the rest are patterned black ones)
  • Shirts (3 business shirts and 4 T-shirts)
  • Dresses X5
  • Long Pants ( 2 work pants, 2 jeans, 1 exercise)
  • Jumpers X4
  • Skirts X5
  • Pyjamas X4 (2 summer and 2 winter)
  • Swimmers X3
  • 1x Sports bra
  • 1x exercise shorts
  • 1x specific exercise shirts (I usually just wear one of my t Shirts)
  • My bag of toiletries, 1 bottle of shampoo and 1 bottle of conditioner , deodorant, soap, toothbrush and tooth paste (while I live in my own home, I like to have all my stuff in my room so I always know where everything is and how much I own)
  • Perfume

Desk

  • Computer and charger X2 (I know but one of them is in the process of dying)
  • Stapler
  • Hole puncher
  • Pens X15
  • Post-it- notes
  • Glasses (long distance and reading)
  • Hairbrush and bobby pins (not the best place but I hate having things on top of my dresser, it gives me somewhere to rest my eyes)

Bedside Tables X2

  • Underwear
  • Socks x12
  • Winter hats and gloves and ski socks

Floor

  • Kittens water bowl and food bowl
  • Filling box

Bookshelf

  • Books related to my degree and the artimus fowl series
  • Medication
  • Crystal ball
  • Jewellery
  • 2 candles
  • Oracle cards
  • tealeaves
  • 1 handbag ( yes when I am not using my handbag it lives in my bookcase)
  • Makeup bag – 1 foundation, 1 moisturizer, 1 eyeliner, 1 mascara, 1 eye shadow, blush/brush and 4 lipsticks; pink, purple, red and a darker pink. And a versatile lip liner.

Under my bed

  • 1 small suitcase (can be classed as hand luggage)
  • Ipod speakers

Inside the suitcase

  • Ski jacket and 2 ski pants

Behind my Door

  • 2 leather jackets, one short and one longish
  • 1 fleecy jacket
  • Bras
  • Suit jacket
  • Vest
  • 2 pairs of boots, 1 pixie and 1 long
  • 1 pair of heels and 1 pair of wedges
  • Outdoor sandals.
  • Sneakers

In my Handbag

  • My phone and I pod share the same charger so that rarely leaves my bag for anything other than charging.
  • Purse
  • Diary
  • Bottle of water
  • Medication
  • Tissues
  • Keys
  • Pencil case and notebooks for University.

But for my room it looks pretty empty, especially if you saw it from the get go.

If you minus the ski gear, I can fit my entire wardrobe into a suitcase, that is both winter and summer clothes. the objects minus the books can fit into my handbag (which doubles as a backpack)

While I still have so much stuff, I find something to get rid of as I go.

My hardest things to get rid of. It may look like junk to you but to me it was so special:

20130417-120104.jpg

20130417-120113.jpg

20130417-120121.jpg

20130417-120146.jpg

20130417-120130.jpg

20130417-120138.jpg

20130417-120154.jpg

20130417-120201.jpg

8 thoughts on “Getting rid of things makes you happier

  1. It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the future and it’s time
    to be happy. I’ve learn this submit and if I could I want to counsel you some fascinating issues or tips. Maybe you can write next articles regarding this article. I want to learn even more issues approximately it!

  2. Pingback: Whats New? | Elysium Tewlder

  3. Pingback: Homepage

  4. After I initially commented I appear to have clicked the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment is added I recieve four emails with the exact same comment.
    There has to be a way you can remove me from that service?
    Many thanks!

  5. Pretty part of content. I simply stumbled upon your
    site and in accession capital to say that I acquire actually
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your feeds
    and even I fulfillment you get right of entry to consistently fast.

Leave a Reply

