Good intentions.

Today I was going to get up and do all the things on my list.
Today I was going to get outside in the sun view some artwork by the beach in Bondi.
Today didn’t actually go to plan.
I woke up. It was a beautiful day, I got ready and started to make breakfast. The next thing I know my mum and I have turned the entire kitchen upside down, nothing is in its place.
In our vain attempts to de-clutter I managed to procrastinate and count the wine glasses… We have 86 wine glasses I wish I was joking….
Anyway as we finished packing up I looked at the time and somehow it was 12 already. My mums insistence to get going was cut short by another distraction on my part again. My bedroom.

It is funny how life can just slip through your intentions. We all start the day with Good Intentions , it is so crazy that by the time you are stumbling blindly around your house, half asleep that they have vanished.
I remember a poster my dad had in his study when I was a child. It comes to mind now that I am thinking about how many good intentions you have before you get out of bed.

Dear God
So far today I’ve done alright.
I haven’t gossiped or lost my temper.
I haven’t been greedy or grumpy or nasty
Or selfish or over indulgent.
And I’m thankful for that.
But God, in a few minutes,
I’m going to get out of bed
—  and from then on,
I’m going to need a lot more help!

(You can find this poem at Poem Bank)

Before we even get out of bed, almost everything seems achievable. I day dream in the wee hours of the morning about my future and the person I want to be. The many things I want to achieve.

Leave a Reply

