Eco Warrior

Being Eco Friendly

Many of my friends complain about how our parents generation didn’t look after the environment and how our grandparents didn’t either.

I can’t help but laugh at them. While many people my age jump on the ‘eco warrior’ band wagon, I for one will not. I love and respect mother nature but I won’t put the blame of what my generation is doing on our parents and grandparents.

Our grandparents didn’t have the luxury to abuse the environment. They reused the glass milk bottles, soda bottles and beer bottles. They were sent back to be washed, sterilized and reused.
WE TOSS THEM OUT, some of us may ‘recycle’ them, but how about the people who claim the EcoFriendly title but will smash the bottles and the glass windows at the bus stops on the weekend.

We may use the plastic bags for dog poo, But back when, when the shops used the brown paper bags, they would be reused until they broke.

They kept fit by walking everywhere, taking the stairs rather than taking the escalator. Walking to the shops, not using a gas guzzling car.

Washing the diapers because the throw away kind didn’t exist. Drying clothes on the line. Not a electric machine. Our parents got hand-me-downs rather then brand new clothes. I am proud to say that the majority of my cloths are second, third or fourth hand.

Our grandparents had one radio in the house if they were lucky, Not like now, where many people have a TV in every room.
In the kitchen, they didn’t have electric mixers, my grandparents stirred by hand.

Old newspaper was used to wrap up fragile things, not environmentally damaging bubble wrap and styrofoam.

When it was cold, our grandparents didn’t turn on the heater, they put on an extra layer of clothes.

People worked hard, in the garden, on the house- they didn’t need to go to a health club to run on treadmills that operate on electricity inside a building. There was none of those protein shakes, if wanted more muscle you worked for it.

They replaced the razor blades in a
razor instead of throwing away the whole razor just because the blade got dull.

Back then, people took the bus and kids rode their bikes to
school or walked instead of turning their moms into a 24-hour taxi service in the family’s one car.They had one electrical outlet in a room, not a dozen that are left on.

So the next time you see a tattooed, multiple pierced smartass who can’t
make change without the cash register telling them how much, complaining about how old people don’t respect the environment. Feel free to give them a lecture.

20121021-091730.jpg

8 thoughts on “Eco Warrior

  1. Yes. Agree. In the 50s/60s vehicles were gaz guzzlers but use reserved for Saturday errands and Sunday church. So many ‘dads’ took the transit. In my own time a younger person asked what my favourite fast food place had been. The question caught me off guard. I informed him/her that the first fast food place did not enter neighbourhood until I was 17 or 18. The mugs were glass and rewashed. There was little ‘garbage’. I don’t know how we became so wasteful – whatever generation. Laziness? Convenience?

      • The mantra of consumerism and having money to participate? I don’t know. Our household simplied – only one television. I see my grandparents home and it did not have electricity but a barn full of cows and delicious milk. Careers took over? We forgot we are part of nature?

      • I think you have hit the nail on the head.

        We forgot ourselves and what is important.

        I don’t think that back then there was the drive to push on for greed.
        People didn’t need to have an extra job to pay for the latest gadgets, and if they did they made time for the people around them. Families went away for the weekend and went fishing. Things were simpler I believe. A three year old didn’t own a iPad, a ten year old didn’t have an iPhone and every other product known to man. I am not aware of any ten year olds back when who would swear at their parents like I have seen only last week in the supermarket.

      • Agree. Dad worked hard through the week. Weekends were out to farm to visit grandparents and pick up country food. Everyone knew who sold ‘good’ eggs, honey. Pick berries. The technology wasn’t there so minimal expenses with fewer consumer options? Life was simpler with fewer distractions to buy/maintain?

  2. I have so much respect for past generations and how the treated mother nature. Consumerism is at its worst, and that checkout operates can try and lecture all he wants about being ‘green’. But can he escape that he’s working for a company that more likely than not, is trashing our beautiful land?

    • I couldn’t agree more! I saw that chain email with a young check-out-chick lecturing the old lady and it just set me off. To be honest I don’t think it would have crossed the checkout assistants mind. The job’s effect doesn’t seem to mean much to people, somehow they are able to ignore that they aren’t doing mother nature any favors and blame others.

Leave a Reply

